Welcome!

11 Aug

Welcome!
It was about a year ago that my love of baking was started. I have always liked to cook and bake, don’t get me wrong. But one afternoon, something just clicked. I was waiting to take some classes at a local college and I decided that I would bake whoopie pies to kill some time during the day. I went to the store, gathered all of the ingredients, and started to bake. I had decided on red velvet whoopie pies because they encompassed everything that I loved- chocolate, cakes, and the color red. I set to work and spent several hours on this pastry.

For anyone who doesn’t know what a whoopie pie is, let me explain it a bit. It is a cross between a cake and a cookie and has a filling inside. The cake can be any flavor you like, from chocolate to carrot cake, to anything in between. The filling has the same idea and can be customized to your liking. It is the most delicious thing that you may ever eat.

Anyway, back to my epiphany. I had just filled all of my whoopie pies with the cream cheese filling that I made to go with the red velvet cakes. As I stood back to look at all the cakes that I had created, I smiled.

I realized that I love baking. It seems that know matter what happens, baking always has a way to make everything seem better. It transforms my day and all of the problems that I may be having at the moment seem to disappear because I have created something tasty and delicious. Everyone has to eat to live, but there are some of us who live to eat.

I am going to take you on a wonderful journey through my love of food. It may not always be neat and tidy, but it will definitely be tasty.

One Response to “Welcome!”

  1. mother of blogger August 11, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    The dishes prepared using these recipes are delicious and am I not being bias because I am the bloggers mother. Try them for yourself and I am sure you will agree with me.

Leave a Reply

